Class of 2022


Music Majors

The department celebrated nine music majors in 2022, including seven double majors: Aiden Cuite (Computer Science), Aditya Deshpande (Computer Science), Timothy Eng, summa cum laude (Physics), Joshua Marion (Government), Sara Caroline Mills (Government, Political Psychology), Jacob Nannapaneni, Kayla Matthea Shames (Linguistics), James Shaul (Biological Science), and Jaxon Peter Snipes.

Music Minors

Twenty students earned a Music Minor this year, demonstrating their commitment to engage with musical theories, materials, and techniques, the study of music in history and culture, and performance while continuing studies in their major. Some were constant members of our ensembles, some were solo performers, and some engaged through musicology or composition. 

We congratulate our minors of 2022: Zachary Bellido, Boyang Ding, Alexander Eshelman, Hannah Faulwell, Sebastian Fernandez, Maggie Gaus, Miles Greenblatt, Patricia Ku, Sage Lee, Maximilian Mendoza, Arsen Omurzakov, Joshua Park, Alex Peng, Spencer Pote, Mokhtar Rajai, Benjamin Ramirez, Nicholas Robinson, Amy Wang, Eric Witt, Yicong Wu

Student Prizes

The Ellen Gussman Adelson Prize, which rewards and encourages outstanding Cornell students excelling in instrumental music performance, went to Constantine Kenny, Thomas Reeves, Nanor Seraydarian, Anna McDougall and Hannah Robins.

The John James Blackmore Prize, which assists undergraduate and graduate students studying music, was awarded to Aditya Deshpande and Nic Vigilante.

The H.A. Falconer Memorial Scholarship, which assists talented undergraduates in studying voice, went to Banafsheh Hussain and Crystal Argüelles.

The Otto R. Stahl Memorial Award, which honors a graduate composer for excellent work, went to Miles Friday.

The Barbara Troxell Vocal Music Award, for outstanding vocal students who evidence professional musical interests, went to Jenny Park and Adedayo Perkovich.

The Donald J. Grout Memorial Prize, for recognition of exceptional dissertations, went to Lee Tyson and Becky Lu.