Cornell Concert Series presents Scottish Chamber Orchestra with Nicola Benedetti, violin

The Scottish Chamber Orchestra, known for its exceptional performances and its extensive, multi-award-winning recordings, will perform with violinist Nicola Benedetti in the next Cornell Concert Series (CCS) concert, Saturday, Oct. 15 at 3 pm in Bailey Hall.

BBC Music Magazine has called the Orchestra “one of the finest ensembles of its kind in the world today.” A reviewer in The Courier describes it as “both dazzling and intimate, effervescent and ethereal... you have to take your hat off to this fabulous ensemble who make chamber music on a grand scale seem like child’s play.”

The Orchestra’s repertoire ranges from re-imagining the classical masters and romantic greats to contemporary commissions. This tour highlights Benedetti, a treasured talent in her native Scotland, and features Anna Clyne’s Sound and Fury, Bruch’s Violin Concerto, and Mendelssohn’s Symphony No. 3, “Scottish.”

Artist and program information, subscriptions, single tickets, and student memberships are available through the CCS website,

Person holding a violin
Violinist Nicola Benedetti

Free evening parking is available at the Forest Home [37 Forest Home Dr.] and Hoy garages. More information and campus maps can be found at and

CCS ticket holders can show their tickets to ride TCAT buses for no charge from Ithaca Commons and Ithaca College. More details and route information online.

The Cornell Concert Series has been hosting musicians and ensembles of international stature since 1903. Originally featuring Western classical artists, the series presented Ravi Shankar in 1987 and has since grown to encompass a broader spectrum of the world's great music. More information is available at

Jordan Musser is PR/production manager for the Cornell Concert Series.

More news

View all news
		Several people arranged on a stage, playing violins