Congratulations to the Class of 2024!


Music Majors

The department celebrated ten music majors in 2024, including seven double majors: Patrick Connelly, Luke Ellis (Information Science), Irene Minchae Kim (Computer Science and Performing and Media Arts), Jessi A. McGlashan (Psychology), Spencer Nachman (Economics), Jenny Park, Nanor Seraydarian, Gordi Tenev (Computer Science), Elisabeth Wang (Physics), Yao Wu (Computer Science).

Music Minors

Twenty-six students earned a Music Minor this year, demonstrating their commitment to engage with musical theories, materials, and techniques, the study of music in history and culture, and performance while continuing studies in their major. Some were constant members of our ensembles, some were solo performers, and some engaged through music and sound studies or composition. 

We congratulate our minors of 2024: Pareesay Afzal, Charlie Brush, Miriam Canter, Ziqian Chen, Caleb Co, Taerim Eom, Dasha Griffiths, Emily Kerstetter, Julianne Klurfeld, Rachel Korosi, Joseph Kotler, Veronika Kowalski, Alyssa Kozcan, Maalini Krishna, Parker Lauer, SarahElizabeth Lee, Joshua Rosenheim, Abigail Schulman, Helen Sturman, William Swartzentruber, Aarya Tavshikar, Charles Thomas, Yuran Johnny Wang, Kyra Watts, Grant Whitman, Wyatt Winters


We congratulate our recent graduates with the following degrees conferred:

Josh Biggs - DMA Composition

John Eagle - DMA Composition

Dani Hawkins - PhD Musicology

Cheryl Tan - DMA Performance

Student Prizes

The Ellen Gussman Adelson Prize, which rewards and encourages outstanding Cornell students excelling in instrumental music performance, went to Luke Ellis, Dean Zhang and Nanor Seraydarian.

The John James Blackmore Prize, which assists undergraduate and graduate students studying music, was awarded to Jack Yarbrough, Elisabeth Wang and Cheryl Tan.

The H.A. Falconer Memorial Scholarship, which assists talented undergraduates in studying voice, went to Arianna Regis and Jessi McGlashan.

The Otto R. Stahl Memorial Award, which honors a graduate composer for excellent work, went to Seare Farhat.

The Barbara Troxell Vocal Music Award, for outstanding vocal students who evidence professional musical interests, went to Anthony Washington and Adedayo Perkovich.

The Donald J. Grout Memorial Prize, for recognition of exceptional dissertations, went to Samantha Heinle and Dani Hawkins.


More news

View all news
Exterior of Lincoln Hall