Skip to main content
sidebar
Barnes Hall

Barnes Hall

Sunday, March 26
   8:00 pm
Barnes Hall Auditorium

Festival Chamber Orchestra; Chris Younghoon Kim, conductor.  Features orchestral works by Cornell graduate composers Corey Keating and Barry Sharp performed by an ensemble of fourteen professional players.

Wednesday, March 29
   12:30 pm
Barnes Hall Auditorium

Midday Music for Organ:  Matthew Hall and Jonathan Schakel present “Duets & Diversions II,” with music for multiple keyboards by J. S. Bach, W. F. Bach, and other lesser luminaries.

Wednesday, March 29
   8:00 pm
Barnes Hall Auditorium

Ithaca Flute Duo:  Juliana May Pepinsky and Elizabeth Shuhan, flutes, with pianist Andrea Merrill.  Features selections for flutes, piccolos, alto flute, and bass flute by Bach, Doppler, and more.

Thursday, March 30
   8:00 pm
Barnes Hall Auditorium

Ryan MacEvoy McCullough, piano.  “Games of Belief” features works by Tonia Ko, Felix Mendelssohn, John Libertore, and the premiere of Nicholas Vines’s Indie Ditties.

Tuesday, April 11
   8:00 pm
Barnes Hall Auditorium

Matthew Hall, harpsichord.  Features the music of François Couperin.

Thursday, April 13
   8:00 pm
Barnes Hall Auditorium

Shin Hwang, fortepiano.  Features works by Beethoven and Haydn.

Saturday, April 15
   8:00 pm
Barnes Hall Auditorium

Xak Bjerken, piano, with guests Renée Jolles, violin, and Steven Doane, cello.  Features trios by Beethoven, Schumann, and Russian composer Alexander Krein.

Monday, April 17
   8:00 pm
Barnes Hall Auditorium

Senior composition recital:  Patrick Braga.

Friday, April 21
   8:00 pm
Barnes Hall Auditorium

Guest trio:  sTem, with soprano Meagan Brus, clarinetist Eric Umble, and pianist Silvie Cheng.  Features music of Schubert, Schoenberg, Isenberg, Catan, and a premiere of fifteen new one-minute pieces as a part of Vox Novus’s “15 Minutes of Fame” series.

Saturday, April 22
   3:00 pm
Barnes Hall Auditorium

Palonegro; Sergio Ospina, director/piano, with Anaar Desai-Stephens, violin; Lenora Schneller, clarinet; Sam Boyles, bass; Jordan Musser, drums; and Martha Mateus, vocals.

Sunday, April 23
   3:00 pm
Barnes Hall Auditorium

Cornell University Jazz Band; Paul Merrill, director, guest composer-drummer Dennis Mackrel.

Monday, April 24
   8:00 pm
Barnes Hall Auditorium

Honors thesis presentation:  Martin Mahoney, composer.

Sunday, April 30
   3:00 pm
Barnes Hall Auditorium

Cornell Chamber Orchestra; Chris Younghoon Kim, conductor.  Features Robert Schumann’s Piano Concerto in A Minor, op. 54, with soloist Miri Yampolsky, and more.

Monday, May 1
   8:00 pm
Barnes Hall Auditorium

Studio recital:  voice students of Lucy Fitz Gibbon, as well as performances by several voice instructors.

Wednesday, May 3
   8:00 pm
Barnes Hall Auditorium

Exhibition-concert features works by graduate students from Marianthi Papalexandri Alexandri’s “rethinking the instrument” seminar.

Saturday, May 6
   3:00 pm
Barnes Hall Auditorium

Studio recital:  piano students of Xak Bjerken.  Features Preludes and Fugues from Book I of The Well-Tempered Clavier and Preludes by Shostakovich.

Sunday, May 7
   8:00 pm
Barnes Hall Auditorium

Student Chamber Music Recital.

Monday, May 8
   8:00 pm
Barnes Hall Auditorium

Student Chamber Music Recital.

Tuesday, May 9
   8:00 pm
Barnes Hall Auditorium

Studio 342:  voice studios recital.

Wednesday, May 10
   8:00 pm
Barnes Hall Auditorium

Cornell University Jazz Ensemble; Paul Merrill, director.

Friday, May 12
   7:00 pm
Barnes Hall Auditorium

Senior recital:  Martin Mahoney, baritone.